Meet a hypocrite

I have never tried reading poetry. Lack of self confidence has led me to assume I will not understand/appreciate it. It is stupid to judge things before trying them, I know. But that is what this post is all about.

The best way to start this post is with this lovely doha (couplet) by Kabir:

Bura Jo Dekhan Main Chala, Bura Naa Milya KoyeJo Mann Khoja Aapnaa, To Mujhse Bura Naa Koye

Before I go into the meaning of this doha and how it is related to what I have to say, just a word on how much I love the doha form of writing. It’s brevity and deep meaning and beauty was captured by my hindi teacher when she said that couplets are like gaagar mein saagar–capturing a sea/ocean in a pot.

So, the doha in question translates to:

I went looking for someone bad, but I couldn’t find anyone

When I looked in my own heart, I found there was noone worse than me

Now, I am not saying that I am the WORST person ever. But I have realised, over time, some of my own hypocrisies and biases. And trust me, I am more hypocritical than many people I know, which is really sad.

How do I know? I asked myself a few questions and found that I failed on several personal parameters:

– I think I believe in equal opportunity. Yet a nursery for my child with only men as caretakers would make me uncomfortable. Classic case of sexism.

– When I see a woman wearing a burkha, I always wonder is she doing it out of choice or pressure. I never think of this with the hijab/saree, just because of familiarity. Surely, that is bigotry of some sort?

– My initial judgement of people is based on how they look and talk. That is just shallow.

– I frequently have an opinion on something I don’t entirely understand. Stupid.

– I don’t understand privilege entirely – probably because I am privileged. But I wouldn’t know that would I?

– I will fear unknowns. Yet I want my daughter to be brave and try going on that steep slide on the playground by herself. Hypocrisy with a capital H.

This list is huge and, I am sad to say, growing steadily.

And I say all this as a pre-emptive strike against future arguments. I don’t really engage with angry people because I find it rarely leads to productive debate, but in case I do decide to do that in the future, my pre-emptive strike is the following message:

People of the internet,

Hello. Hope you are doing well. I would like to inform you that I am flawed, a hypocrite, uninformed about many many topics, surely racist/sexist in some way or the other, and judgemental. Now, I am trying to work on all these things but that is how things are. So kaha-suna maaf in case I don’t meet your standards. Inform me, but don’t scream at me. Thanks.

F.A.Q.

Is this a rant?

Yes

Is there a point?

No

Do you have free time to write these pointless blog posts?

Apparently

Do you want to know what people think of this post and of hypocrisy?

Yes please.

Comments
5 Responses to “Meet a hypocrite”
  1. Dipti says:

    Nicely written and can empathise with a lot of that!

  2. Nayantara says:

    Oh man. I don’t think anyone has ever openly accepted the fact that they’re hypocrites. Neither have I. And I know I am one. This was needed.

    We all are hypocritical, whether we like it or not. Moods, situations, environment etc. influence our perceptions. And they can keep changing.

  3. gauravyash says:

    Hey,
    Very well put by u in simple n crisp words with a lil’ tinch of poetry, must say. Am new to this wordpress or rather new to this entire scenario of reading and writing. Am trying to develop the reading habit so i could write or express n am delighted to say that i had something good in starters.

  4. I think it takes guts to question oneself on these things and I or anyone for that matter is a hypocrite at some or other level. Loved the post.

Leave a Reply

