Let the baking begin

Hello people! This is my first recipe blog. So round of applause please! Thank you thank you.

This food blogging idea has been in the works for ages now, more than 8 months back I had written a recipe blog on cinnamon rolls. Somehow it never found its way on to the blog. I will definitely post that sometime in the near future. I intend to blog every week from now. I make sure that at least one of the 2 days of the weekend, I do some baking. So those recipes will find their way here and also any experiments in weeknight baking.

I moved to London around 6 months back. And for a month after that baking went for a toss  while I was staying in a serviced apartments. Then later, after we moved into a proper rented place, I was completely befuddled by the controls on the oven. I went through major mental trauma with experiment after experiment failing. Finally the husband figured out everything and things are working awesomely now. I knew I married him for a reason!

(There are gas ovens and convection ovens and fan-assisted ovens and grill ovens and… it took us over a month to figure out which one we had.)

OK, before I go into the details of what the recipe is I have to tell you this: you know how some people replace the emptiness in their life with food?  Well I replaced the lack of successful baking in my life with hajaar cookbooks/books on baking.

From one of these books, the Hummingbird Bakery cookbook, I made something which I’d tried earlier with iffy results. Chocolate Brownies. Now I am not a chocoholic, but I REALLY liked them. The reason I picked this recipe (despite the lack of affection for chocolate) was because I didn’t have butter at room temperature (and it takes ages to bring it to room temperature in the cold here). This recipe can do with butter at any temperature, which is awesome.

I always try to make sure that what I make is healthier than what one gets in the market. And, even though baking is supposed to be an exact science, I have taken chances. For example:

1. Using half all purpose and half whole wheat flour for any bread recipes. Ideally this should need some adjustment in the amount of yeast one uses, but I have not had a disaster yet. (touch wood)

2. Using a little less sugar than what is mentioned in the recipe. It helps that I do not like overly sweet recipes.

3. Avoid/reduce any kind of glazing/icing. My experience is, the unhealthiest part of the recipe is in the icing. Again it helps that I am not fond of too much creamy icing usually.

This is the easiest brownie recipe I have ever seen. So even those who are shy of baking should try this and chocolate fans must!

Here goes: Modified from Hummingbird bakery cookbook – Makes around 12.

Ingredients:

(All recipes include ingredient lists given in cups, grams or spoonfuls. I use wikianswers to check conversions and google for substitutes.)

200 g dark chocolate ( I used Green and Black)

175g unsalted butter (I think it could have done with 150g, was quite rich)

275g caster sugar

130g plain flour

3 eggs

icing sugar to decorate

Method:

1. Line a square/rectangular baking tray with greaseproof paper. The height of the batter has to be around 5 cm ideally. Otherwise some time adjustments would be needed.

2. Preheat oven to 170 deg C (150 deg on fan assisted oven)

3. In a heatproof bowl (Glass bowls like Borosil are best), put the chocolate (break into pieces by smashing it on side of counter, quick and effective) and butter.

4. Put the bowl over a saucepan of simmering water (Medium heat). The water should not touch the base of the bowl and the steam should not touch the chocolate. Water coming in touch with the chocolate is not good at all.

5. Leave until melted and smooth.

6. Remove from heat and add sugar. Mix it completely.

7. Sift in the flour and mix properly. There should be no specks of the flour left.

8. Beat eggs lightly and add to the mix.

9. Transfer the mix to prepared baking tray and bake for 30-35 minutes (Reduce time by a third for fan assisted ovens).

10. The top should become flaky, do not overcook.

11. Remove from oven, cool completely and then dust icing sugar through a sieve.

Ta da!

P.S. I haven’t yet been to Hummingbird bakery, shame on me.

Comments
One Response to “Let the baking begin”
  1. Ashmita says:

    Lovely variation of the brownie. Needs to be tried soon.
    Also, I can imagine how just reading Rachel Allen or Nigella Lawson can give you a false sense of baking achievement. Them evil brilliant females have such powers.

    Hope you keep updating the food blog.
    A big fan 🙂

Leave a Reply

